Beetroot and Sweet Potato Soup

Published on by Iheartcooking

Everyone- I'm a woman on a mission. I've decided to cook and serve a different vegetable every day for seven days. I want to expand my horizons (not my waistline) as far as veggies are concerned. I have not told my family about my bold decision, since I fear that I might encounter some resistance. My husband's idea of the vegetable part of a meal consists of fries. Really greasy ones, too. He's a carnivore. My daughter may be easier to convince. So, wish me luck and hold my hand as I venture into unknown territory.

 

My first veggie recipe can be an starter or a main course. I served it as a starter since it was the only way I could convince Mr Sugar Rush to eat it. It's Beetroot and Sweet Potato Soup, flavored with  garlic, tarragon, lime juice and balsamic vinegar which nicely balanced the sweetness of the root vegetables. I served mine at room temperature, but chilled would be just as tasty.

 

Beetroot fun fact - ancient Romans considered beetroot juice an aphrodisiac. That may account for all the beetroot drinks and "punches" sold here in Trinidad.

 

 

Beetroot and Sweet Potato Soup

beetroot_raw.jpg

 

1-2 lbs red beets, peeled and cut in quarters

1 large sweet potato, peeled and cut in pieces roughly the same size as the beets

2 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped

1-2 sprigs fresh tarragon

juice of 1 lime

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

3 cups vegetable stock (or whatever stock you have)

salt to taste

 

  • Place stock in a large saucepan.
  • Add chopped beets, sweet potato, garlic, tarragon and 1/2 tsp salt.
  • Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer covered until vegetables are fork tender.
  • Remove from heat and carefully transfer to a food processor or blender to puree.
  • Puree until smooth.

beetroot_sweet-potato-soup1.jpg

  • Return mixture to saucepan over low heat.
  • Add balsamic vinegar, lime juice, and more salt if needed and stir well to combine.
  • Simmer for about 5 minutes- don't boil.
  • Remove from heat and serve room temperature or chilled.

beetroot_sweetpotato-soup2.jpg

 

 

Published on Soups

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
E
Beetroots are rich in nutrients that help to boost your immune system and can produce new blood cells. A raw beetroot contains folic acid, iron, zinc, magnesium, potassium, fiber, vitamin C and carbohydrates. Folic acid otherwise known as folate is essential during pregnancy as it can prevent spina bifida (lack in the development of spinal cord) in fetus.
Reply
S
<br /> You go girl! Look forward to seeing what you do the next 7 days.<br /> The soup sounds very tasty.<br /> <br /> <br />
Reply