Are We Even Human Anymore? A Random Thought

Published on by Iheartcooking

I got some disturbing news yesterday. My 11 year old neighbor was injured in a hit and run accident. He was riding his bike around the neighborhood at lunchtime(broad daylight!) when a guy driving a black pickup knocked him down and DID NOT STOP!!!! Imagine an adult knocks down a kid then speeds off, leaving said kid lying in the middle of the road, definitely injured, possibly dead!! I still can't get my mind wrapped around that.  But there's more to this story....a passing vagrant saw my injured friend and bodily picked him up and carried him home!! Thankfully he sustained only minor physical injuries but I'm sure the psycological injuries are more severe. He's back home now, nursing his wounds.

 

This entire incident has left a sour taste in my mouth. Have we now become a society of automatons?  Are the qualities that make us uniquely human slowly disappearing? Think about it. I am.

 

"The opposite of love is not hate, it's indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it's indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it's indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it's indifference."
Elie Wiesel

 

Published on random

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post